Men of League honour the Best Club Persons from Manly Warringah and North Sydney Junior Clubs and North Sydney Referees Association

It is widely recognised in rugby league circles that all Junior Rugby League Clubs throughout our great country are the birthplace and the future of our great game. Over the years we have witnessed a constant flow of young rugby league players from the junior levels, many of whom have progressed to the NRL Clubs/higher representative honours and this will continue in the years ahead. This flow of elite junior players has been the cornerstone of the past successes of the Sea Eagles and North Sydney Bears District Clubs.

However behind every Junior Rugby League Club there is a loyal band of officials, coaches, managers and supporters who play a major role in the continued development of our game and its players. Plus, we cannot forget the “Men in the Middle with their whistles” the referees, who also play a major role in our game.
The Men of League are mindful of the vital roles fulfilled by all these parties and in recent years the Northern Sydney Men of League Committee has honoured the nominated Best Club Persons in both Districts by the presentation of Men of League plaques at Annual Functions.
Firstly, on 24 October 2015 Northern Sydney Committee Members Norm Pounder, Fred Jackson, Neil and Liz Whittaker, Neil and Linda McDowell and Ken Vessey were guests of the Manly Warringah District Junior Rugby League Executive at their Yearly Presentation Night, where we were made most welcomed again and took part during their presentations to the 2015 premiership winning clubs. In front of an audience of almost 130 persons and with the assistance of popular ex-Sea Eagles NRL player Matt Ballin, we presented a total of 13 plaques to the nominated Best Club Persons from the various Junior Rugby League Clubs. The plaques were warmly received by their surprised recipients.
We sincerely thank the Manly Warringah Junior Rugby League Executives Mike Covey and Matt Brown for their hospitality and continued support during 2015.
On the 18 November 2015, Norm Pounder, Fred Jackson and Ken Vessey were invited to attend the North Sydney District Junior Rugby League Annual General Meeting and during the meeting, presented a total of nine Men of League plaques to the nominated Best Club/Referee Association Persons’ or in their absence – the club delegates. Presentations were made to Michelle Kelly (Asquith Magpies), Tony Bellia (Willoughby Roos), Michael Asensio (Ku-Ring- Gai Cubs) and Chris Hopkins (North Sydney Referees) and once again the recipients were pleased to receive their awards.
Our special thanks go to Josh Hyland – Football Operations Manager of North Sydney Bears for arranging our participation on the evening and we look forward to continued activities and support in 2016.


SHARE Facebook Link Twitter Link Print The Page
Facebook Link Instagram Link Twitter Link