North Sydney Junior Rugby League & Referees Association Awards

Each year, the Foundation’s North Sydney Committee holds a function in which we honour the nominated volunteers from each of the North Sydney junior rugby league clubs and referees association.

This year, the seventh such event, was a fantastic success with 120 persons attending the Molly Dive Stand at the iconic North Sydney Oval to pay tribute to their colleagues.

Each club secretly nominated their volunteer selections which were announced at the event and presented with a specially engraved designed trophy. This year the trophies were presented by newly appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Men of League Foundation, Stephen Lowndes.

The winners were:

Asquith Magpies – Mike Mercer

Berowra Wallabies – Lauren Milner

Hills Hawks – Deirdre Grofski

Ku-Ring-Gai Cubs – John Erdman

Lane Cove Tigers – Fran Hahlos

North Sydney Brothers – Glenn Farquharson

North Sydney Referee – Brian Minnett

Pennant Hills/Cherrybrook Staggs – Tim Beitch

Willoughby Roos – Martin Irvine

The yearly Special Volunteer Award, determined by the North Sydney Junior Rugby League Executives, was justly awarded to Lauren Milner from the Berowra Wallabies.

We express our congratulations to all the winners, our sincere thanks for those who attended and really joined in the spirit of the function.

Our thanks also go to Jake Trobjevic of the Manly Warringah Sea Eagles for his attendance, Stephen Sim for being an excellent Master of Ceremonies as well as Josh Hyland and Greg Florimo for their continued support and efforts.

By Ken Vessey

SHARE Facebook Link Twitter Link Print The Page
Facebook Link Instagram Link Twitter Link