2015: Cowboys v Broncos – One Golden Point

In the first ever all Queensland affair, it was the North Queensland Cowboys who claimed their first premiership title since their inception in 1995, winning 17-16 over the Brisbane Broncos.

With just seconds remaining and the scoreboard reading 16-12 in the Broncos favour, Cowboys five-eighth Michael Morgan took a diagonal route to the try line, cut in to draw three defenders and five metres out from the line as the full-time siren sounded, flicked a pass to Kyle Feldt who planted the ball on the chalk, levelling the score at 16-all.

Cowboys captain Jonathan Thurston’s conversion attempt appeared to be swinging just inside the right upright, but failed to curl enough and hit the post halfway up, taking the match into golden point extra-time.

Following a Broncos error from the kick-off, Thurston kicked the winning field goal from the ensuing scrum and took out the Clive Churchill Medal in the process.

Ten of the Greatest Grand Finals in rugby league history have been selected by an elite panel for the 2018 Annual Gala Dinner to be held at The Westin Sydney on Wednesday 15 August.

The three Grand Finals with the highest votes will be unveiled on the night, have your say and VOTE NOW on the Daily Telegraph website!

To purchase tickets to the 2018 Annual Gala Dinner, CLICK HERE.

SHARE Facebook Link Twitter Link Print The Page
Facebook Link Instagram Link Twitter Link